City of Avalon General Municipal Election

2020 Meet the Candidates

6pm, Monday, February 3
Council Chambers, Avalon City Hall
410 Avalon Canyon Road

Candidate statements followed by questions. Learn where the candidates stand on important issues.

Ways to ask questions of one or more candidates:

  • Attend the public forum on Monday, February 3 at 6pm in person or submit written questions
  • Submit online (anonymously)
  • Email your questions to
  • Submit written questions to the Catalina Island Visitor Center, 1 Green Pleasure Pier or mail to PO Box 217; questions must be submitted by 5 pm on January 30, 2020.

List of Qualified Candidates

In accordance with Elections Code Section 13112 (b)(1)(A), the Secretary of the State's Office conducted a drawing of letters of the alphabet to determine the randomized alphabet to be used in the March 3, 2020 election. The official order of the placement candidates' names will appear on the ballot as follows:

Mayor (2 Year Term)

Steven Hoefs
Anni Marshall  

City Council (4 Year Term)

Lisa Lavelle: Facebook election page, Candidate website 
Oley Olsen  
Yesenia Sarahi De La Rosa:  Facebook election page    
Joe Sampson
Yolanda “Yoli” Montano  

City Council (2 Year Term)

Carl Johnson:  Facebook election page
Michael Ponce

Additional Information

Candidate Forum Flyer
City of Avalon Election Page
How to Vote on the NEW Ballot Marking Device

Important Dates:

February 3 - Meet the Candidates
February 18 - Last day to register for this election
February 25 - Last day to request vote by mail ballot
March 3 - City of Avalon Municipal Election and Presidential Primary