Catalina Express Schedule & Passenger Counts

Catalina Express - Reduced Service to Catalina Island

Long Beach Service 3/23/20 - 5/31/20

Long Beach to Avalon 7:15 am
Avalon to Long Beach 9:00 am
Long Beach to Avalon 4:30 pm
Avalon to Long Beach 6:15 pm

Services from San Pedro & Dana Point ports will be suspended until further notice.


Due to the Los Angeles County Public Health Order, Catalina Express has extended a limited schedule through Sunday, June 28, 2020. As we move into larger vessels to promote physical distancing, the June 1 schedule will allow for more time to clean and sanitize the vessels between departures for the safety of the passengers and crew.

Catalina Express continues to operate for essential travel to and from Catalina Island.

Long Beach Service 6/1/20 - 6/28/20

Long Beach to Avalon 7:00 am
Avalon to Long Beach 9:30 am
Long Beach to Avalon 5:00 pm
Avalon to Long Beach 7:30 pm

Click to download and print a PDF version or visit their website.


*In response to the City of Los Angeles Worker Protection Order, all passengers and employees are required to wear a face covering or mask when in the terminals or on board the vessels.

Please visit Catalina Express' Know Before You Go page for details about what's required and what to expect on your journey to Catalina Island.


Statement from the Catalina Express

The safety and security of our passengers and employees are the top priorities of Catalina Express. We have taken extra precautions during this time based on the guidance of the County of Los Angeles, Centers of Disease Control (CDC) and other local health departments.

For the past several months, we have implemented an enhanced cleaning process. While the cleaning process of our terminals and vessels has always been robust, we have taken steps to invest in stronger disinfectants and continue to evaluate our cleaning procedures. High touch surfaces in the terminals, vessels and offices such as door knobs, handles, check-in counters, arm rests, seat trays and handrails will be wiped down with disinfectant on a frequent basis. We are reinforcing training procedures to ensure cleaning processes are conducted properly by our employees. Catalina Express also offers hand sanitizers at our ticket windows and before boarding the vessel. 

Following County of Los Angeles guidelines, passengers are required to wear a face covering or mask that cover their nose and mouth while in the terminal, waiting in line to board and on board the vessel. Our teams are also all outfitted with masks, gloves and safety glasses.

Catalina Express has temporarily reduced capacity for general seating and the Commodore Lounge to allow for distance between passengers. The crew will be assisting passengers by assigning seats to allow for physical distancing. Please indicate to a crew member if you and your family are traveling together.
Please visit the Catalina Express website for a complete list of precautions we have taken during this time. We will continue to monitor and re-evaluate our procedures, policies and operations as necessary and appreciate everyone's cooperation. 
 



Daily Passenger Counts

In response to the discouragement of visiting Catalina Island for non-essential reasons, Catalina Express has seen an extremely limited number of passengers traveling to and from Avalon. For reference, below are the passengers counts on a daily basis.

Catalina Express highly recommends making a reservation at least 24 hours prior to departure, so that they can schedule a vessel with the appropriate capacity to allow for social distancing.

Date LB to AV LB to AV AV to LB AV to LB
  7:15 am 4:30 pm 9 am 6:15 pm
Sun, 3/29 15 39 22 38
Mon, 3/30 46 50 30 15
Tue, 3/31 30 30 36 20
Wed, 4/1 28 47 37 45
Thu, 4/2 24 35 42 42
Fri, 4/3 23 50 35 60
Sat, 4/4 17 28 21 28
Sun, 4/5 16 31 25 22
Mon, 4/6 41 30 15 11
Tue, 4/7 29 12 14 18
Wed, 4/8 16 17 31 21
Thu, 4/9 14 19 26 25
Fri, 4/10 14 23 26 36
Sat, 4/11 16 11 24 11
Sun, 4/12 7 24 14 18
Mon, 4/13 63 34 22 32
Tue, 4/14 26 29 21 17
Wed, 4/15 26 29 31 32
Thu, 4/16 29 37 38 44
Fri, 4/17 31 36 37 60
Sat, 4/18 13 23 42 14
Sun, 4/19 17 49 39 29
Mon, 4/20 50 40 26 26
Tue, 4/21 23 39 29 20
Wed, 4/22 26 36 40 36
Thu, 4/23 41 53 47 50
Fri, 4/24 30 51 70 64
Sat, 4/25 22 27 53 12
Sun, 4/26 16 37 30 34
Mon, 4/27 58 52 33 26
Tue, 4/28 32 42 41 22
Wed, 4/29 47 44 40 46
Thu, 4/30 36 33 49 49
Fri, May 1 33 61 68 83
Sat, May 2 23 45 47 17
Sun, May 3 22 73 28 46
Mon, May 4 82 54 58 36
Tue, May 5 33 55 33 35
Wed, May 6 36 48 67 36
Thu, May 7 48 65 56 49
Fri, May 8 44 99 76 98
Sat, May 9 37 50 85 37
Sun, May 10 12 97 48 66
Mon, May 11 84 85 48 55
Tue, May 12 61 65 51 34
Wed, May 13 43 68 57 51
Thu, May 14 49 90 66 72
Fri, May 15 44 125 88 124
Sat, May 16 31 55 53 28
Sun, May 17 56 92 59 122
Mon, May 18 115 100 85 45
Tue, May 19 53 60 50 35
Wed, May 20 42 103 81 54
Thu, May 21 40 134 86 89
Fri, May 22 94 162 129 138
Sat, May 23 113 102 85 80
Sun, May 24 71 101 49 115
Mon, May 25 45 77 87 129
Tue, May 26 135 121 91 89
Wed, May 27 93 111 75 85
Thu, May 28 69 126 117 101

Catalina Express is operating a very limited schedule from our Long Beach terminal for passengers and has temporarily suspended service from our San Pedro and Dana Point terminals. This limited schedule has been extended to June 28, 2020.